5 Things You Might Not Like About Brisbane, Australia

  1. Stores Close Early

The shopping stores and malls in Brisbane close at 5:30pm.

Let me say that again.

The shopping stores and malls in South Brisbane close around 5:30pm! Have you ever heard of such a thing?

Call me crazy, but I think there’s a serious problem with shopping centers closing so early! This type of retail behavior I’m witnessing is extremely weird and I don’t see myself ever adjusting to it. One of the many joys of travelling includes strolling along shopping malls at your leisure, while taking in the fashion style and habits of a city.

After 5:30pm in Brisbane, your shopping adventures will come to an abrupt halt!

And the retail workers don’t hesitate to let you know when it’s time to go.

Around 4:00pm, you will start to hear and see the closing of storefronts, stacking of chairs, dimming of lights, and retail workers kindly asking customers to gather their things and hang out elsewhere because “we’re closing”.

On a positive note, towards the end of the workweek some stores stay open until 9pm. That makes me smile. Just remember that on most nights, if you don’t get your shopping fix in early – you’ll miss out.

  1. Brisbane Culture

Brisbane is a busy city that is extremely walkable, stylish, and picturesque.

That being said, it’s like a beautiful college campus with a bunch of freshman walking the streets. Everyone is shiny and new, well dressed, and on a mission to go somewhere and do something. This city is beautiful, but it lacks soul.

It lacks a heartbeat and personality. It lacks that “je ne sais quoi” that would have someone say, “now that’s Brisbane”.

I can’t finish the sentence “You know you’re in Brisbane when…”.

For some reason, I don’t feel as comfortable and fabulous as I do when I’m in Europe. When I think of Paris, what immediately comes to my mind is fashion, old beautiful buildings, cafes, people watching, art, love, Moulin Rouge, Chanel, the list goes on.

When I reminisce about my travels to Madrid, I remember tapas, Flamenco, white leather jackets and matching white shoes, paella, clubs, fashion, hookers, etc.

When I observe Brisbane, I see people who love the beach, coffee, and beautiful weather. This city is still developing its culture.

  1. Lack of Ethnic Hair Salons and Products

As an African American woman, I can only give you information about a particular travel destination from an African American’s perspective.

There are no hair salons or hair products for ethnic hair.

I’ll say it again.

There are no hair salons or hair products for my hair type!

Why you ask? I have no idea. It’s almost insulting for me to see numerous hair salons that do not cater to ethnic hair. Tisk, tisk Brisbane.

If visiting Brisbane is on your bucket list and you have ethnic hair, (BYOHP)…Bring Your Own Hair Products!

  1. Coats and Flip-Flops

This is pretty self-explanatory and in my opinion, a fashion faux pas.

When the temperature is around 65 to 70 degrees, I see people wear coats, scarves, and flip-flops.

I don’t understand it.

I don’t want to understand it.

Stop the madness.

  1. High Cost of Everything

I think it’s a known fact that Australia in general is an expensive place to live and South Brisbane is no exception. If you don’t want to spend an obscene amount of money on food, the best places to eat are the food courts in shopping malls. You could buy fresh and seasonal foods from Asia, India, and many other parts of the world for less than 10 Australian dollars. That’s a pretty good deal to me.

You can also find reasonably priced clothing items in Brisbane. You won’t have to look far for sales here.

Well, that’s about all I have for now on what you might not like about Brisbane, Australia. I’m not one to complain about a situation without looking for and finding solutions to problems.

In future posts, look out for solutions I’ve found to the issues you’ve just read about in this post. Until then, stay positive and fabulous!

© Sharona Mckenzie and https://sharonatravels.com 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Sharona Mckenzie and https://sharonatravels.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

