Migration process from America to Australia

“Hurry up and wait!!” That is pretty much describes the process of obtaining my spousal visa to Australia.

I’m currently applying for migration to Australia by a partner using Form 47SP. The visa I would receive is (subclass 309/100) which is “Partner visa outside Australia”.

Completing this application is a lengthy process, and in case your wondering what information is needed, here’s a link you should check out. http://www.immi.gov.au/forms/Documents/47sp.pdf

It’s important to understand what information is needed on your application before and after submission to the embassy.

You should take care of your Character requirement documents as soon as you definitely know that you want to move to Australia. Some of the documents needed are:

  1. FBI Clearance
  2. State police records (for any state in which you’ve lived for 3 months or more within 12 months)

The Australian Embassy only accepts FBI clearance for U.S. citizens and U.S. permanent residents from 3 FBI Channelers, which are:

  1. National Background Check, Inc.
  2. National Credit Reporting
  3. Telos Identity Management Solutions, LLC

It can take 12 weeks or more for you to receive your Identity History Summary Check from the FBI, so complete that step immediately, even before filling out your application. This will save you some time in the application process.

I’m learning this fact the hard way by applying for an FBI check after submitting my application.

Oh well, you live and you learn.

I’m currently in constant communication with the Australian Embassy about the documents I’ve completed. I also ask questions about anything I’m unsure of.

I have to say, the representatives at the embassy have been very helpful and understanding. I have no complaints with them so far.

Well, that’s all for now. I will keep you updated on my progress as I continue to fumble through the process.

If you found this information helpful, please comment below.

Also, if you’ve been through this process and want to make a comment or suggestion, feel free.

I look forward to hearing from you!

image

© Sharona Mckenzie and https://sharonatravels.com 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Sharona Mckenzie and https://sharonatravels.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

